Zakka Home book tour

Zakka Home book tour

I have loved Sedef ‘s first book Quilt Petite and enjoyed making a project. When she told me that she was writing her second book, I couldn’t wait to put my hands on!

What a joy waiting for something good!

My first choice was the Armchair Caddy on the cover but I realized that I don’t have a right sized-couch that fits. darn it!

So this table topper was my second choice and I am glad I changed my plan.

I was inspired by the Scallop Trivet in the book. Sedef showed very clever instruction and it is quite a good size. I am using it as a tea mat than a trivet to be honest.

Fabric used: Wild Bouquet collection by Citrus & Mint Designs for Riley Blake Designs

To make a table topper, I took Sedef’s hoop design and enlarged it by 200% and machine stitched using 28wt dark thread. I added “loving life” on the corner for my girls.

For the scallop edges, I made my own template and trimed the edges roughly using a pair of scissors because I wanted them uneven.

If you want to make one like mine, the finished size is approx. 23” circle and the inner circle  is 12”.

Fabric used: Guest Room collection by Krystyne Cyzepuryk for Moda fabric.

 

oh, that little flower coaster is the Dilly Flower I used Elise’s EPP template.

I think I am going to flip through the pages again for Christmas is getting close.

Zakka Home is filled with 19 “smaller style” projects to get you inspired to fill your home with beautifully handmade projects.

Suitable for all levels of sewists, you will be inspired by these fun and easy-to-sew projects that will brighten and adorn your home.

Here’s the full schedule of the whole tour if you want to check out more projects – it’s quite a line up of talented sewists:

 

22 October – Sedef Imer – Down Grapevine Lane – @downgrapevinelane
23 October – Jemima Flendt – Tied With A Ribbon – @tiedwitharibbon
24 October – Minki Kim – Minki’s Work Table – @zeriano
25 October – Jane Davidson – Quilt Jane – @quiltjane
26 October – Elizabeth Chappell – Quilters Candy Box – @quilterscandybox
27 October – Lauren Wright – Molly and Mama – @mollyandmama
28 October – Sarah Scott – Piccolo Studio – @piccolostudio_sarah
29 October – Alyce Blyth – Blossom Heart Quilts – @blossomheartquilts
30 October – Emily Dennis – Quilty Love – @emily_dennis_
31 October – Sharon Burgess – Lilabelle Lane Creations – @lilabellelane
1 November – Wynn Tan – Zakka Art – @zakkaArt
2 November – Amanda Woodruff – A Crafty Fox – @a.crafty.fox
4 November – Samantha Dorn – Aqua Paisley Studio – @aqua_paisley
5 November – Love Patchwork & Quilting – @lovequiltingmag
6 November – Kate May – The Homemakery – @thehomemakery
7 November – Ayda Algin – Cafe Nohut – @cafenohut
8 November  – Faith Essenburg – Sarana Ave – @faithessenburg
9 November – Nadra Ridgeway – Ellis & Higgs – @ellisandhiggs
10 November – Fat Quarter Shop – @fatquartershop
11 November – Laura Cunningham – @laura_zuckerkuss
12 November – Bev McCullough – Flamingo Toes – @flamingotoes
13 November – Amy Smart – Diary of a Quilter – @diaryofaquilter
14 November – Riley Blake Designs – @rileyblakedesigns
15 November – Michelle Hickson – @coleandtaffy
16 November – Christopher Thompson – The Tattooed Quilter – @the_tattooed_quilter
17 November – Ange Hamilton – A Little Patchwork – @alittlepatchwork
18 November –  Sedef Imer – Down Grapevine Lane – @downgrapevinelane

 

 

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CAPTCHA *